top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSdobro

Relationships VS Courting

Sorry there hasn’t been a new article in a while with the holiday it’s kind of hard to blog during a holiday weekend.

So this topic is hitting me hard at the moment and I just wanted to see what you guys think. I was watching a TLC show where the family doesn’t do relationships, they “court”. Meaning they have decided to pretty much make sure that this person can be a good spouse and then in a couple weeks or months they get engaged. My thought about this was isn’t that pretty much what a relationship is? Just quicker? When you are in a relationship isn’t it pretty much to see if that person would make a good spouse? Why do people even rush into a relationship in the first place? Why is courting so frowned on?

When I was in my early early 20’s all I wanted was a long-lasting relationship. I had a lot of quick flings, or things that died out early or engagements that were horrible. I had never had that long lasting “thing”. That is no longer the case. I had one and we all know how that turned out. Honestly, I’m kind of glad It didn’t end in marriage. It wasn’t right and it wasn’t everything I thought it was going to be. Now I find myself ok with those little flings I had. I’m ok with a relationship that maybe won’t end in marriage. The only thing I want for now is fun, I want someone to love me and be ok with not getting married for now. When I started my last relationship, I told him from the start that he had 4 years to put a ring on it or I was gone, because I was led to believe that after 4 years they are just stringing you along. Now, I feel like that’s not the case at all. No one should feel pressure and that’s the difference between relationships and seeing someone. Relationships come with pressure. “What are we?” “Where is this going?” Dating and seeing someone is just fun dates, hanging out, making out in parking lots, talking about history over Mexican food. Relationships are pressure and courting is a quick version of a relationship where you side hug and wait to ask the pastor father for his daughters hand in marriage just so you can hold her hand.

What do you think?

Leave a comment below and let me know your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page